顧問諮詢小組

全球環境教育合作夥伴關關係指導委員會就GEEP的總體方向提供指導,協助發展GEEP成員和治理,並擔任合作夥伴大使。會員資訊如下:

Judy Braus
執行董事
北美環境教育協會(NAAEE)

Judy Braus專精於保育教育,長期關注多元性及社會包容性,並運用教育的力量協助成立健全的社群,進而改善和培訓社區、利害關係人和個人,以達成環境保育和復育。她為NAAEE的執行董事之位帶來豐富的環境教育專業知識和經驗。在加入NAAEE前,Judy曾任奧杜邦學會(Audubon Society)教育及中心的資深副總,統籌國家級的生態中心和環境教育人員網絡。她也曾於世界野生動物基金會(World Wildlife Fund)、美國和平工作團(the U.S. Peace Corps)、國家野生動物協會(National Wildlife Fund)帶領環境教育計畫。

Jan Eriksen
榮譽成員
環境教育基金會(Foundation for Environmental Education)

Jan Eriksen 於1996-2004年間擔任FEE的副執行長,並於2004-2016年間擔任執行長。FEE 5項國際性的計畫為:生態學校(Eco-School)、藍旗計畫(The Blue Flag)、綠色鑰匙(The Green Key)、認識森林(Learning about Forests),以及年輕環境記者(Young Reporters for the Environment)。FEE也與多個聯合國部門簽署備忘錄,如聯合國教科文組織,並積極推動與17項永續發展目標相關之行動。FEE至今已於75國擁有85個會員組織。

Justin Harris
國際環境合作夥伴計畫專案經理
美國環境保護署

Justin Harris 為美國環境保護署區域及雙邊關係室的資深專案經理,為美國負責國際環境夥伴計畫(IEP)的專員。他直接負責與水、毒物、廢棄物、氣候變遷、執行及管理,和環境教育相關的合作計畫,同時也是城市清潔空氣夥伴計畫的美方統籌者,也是對美國在台協會的對口。2009年進入環保署前,Justin曾於亞洲私部門任職長達10年,精通中文,且於2002年取得喬治城大學國際服務學院碩士學位。

Ian Humphreys
執行董事
Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful

Ian Humphreys於2008年加入Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful成為執行長前,曾任職於英國保育志工(The Conservation Volunteers)長達14年,也有扎實的環境及研究背景,包含貝爾法斯特女王大學博士學位。他在Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful期間促成生態學校計畫的成長茁壯,現在北愛爾蘭所有學校均為生態學校。他也擅長透過多方合作以解決問題,於2014年催生當地一項成功的公民同志運動(Live Here Love Here)。目前,他致力於研究外力介入對於行為改變的影響,以及致力於培育青年公民領袖。他也參與經營至志願性質的Copeland鳥類觀察中心。Ian認為:「我們所做的工作都是為了讓民眾的行為產生一些改變,進而創造更乾淨永續的北愛爾蘭」。

Mphemelang (M.J.) Ketlhoilwe
副教授(環境教育)
波札那大學

Mphemelang Ketlhoilwe 現為波札那大學環境教育副教授。在1999年來到波札那大學之前,他曾於課程發展中心擔任環境教育專員15年。他現在同時也是南非洲環境教育協會(Environmental Education Association of Southern Africa)理事長,以及全球環境教育夥伴(GEEP)的諮詢顧問之一。

Alex Kudryavtsev
康乃爾大學 (Cornell University)

Alex Kudryavtsev (筆名Alex Russ)為康乃爾大學公民生態實驗室的講師。他自1996年以來在俄羅斯推動環境教育,並於2006年和2013年分別自康乃爾大學自然資源學系取得環境教育碩士和博士學位。他的主要研究方向為都市環境教育及地方感,於2017年共同作者身分出版教科書「Urban Environmental Education Review」(Russ and Krasny, 2017),由康乃爾大學出版。Alex的研究被刊登於頂尖環境教育期刊,他也實際走訪各大洲以了解更多環境教育計畫,更對於能夠促成環境永續性及人類福祉的新興環境教育措施有濃厚興趣。http://ak383.org

Gus Medina
環境教育顧問

Medina博士為資深環境教育專家,不論在國內或國際環境教育工作上都有非常豐富的經驗。主要專長領域包含:教育及保育規劃、計劃設計及管理、撰寫及審核提案、專業能力培訓、增進文化能力和包容力、戰略計畫,以及會議策劃。於1995-2014年間,他曾任美國環保署國家環境教育培訓計畫的計畫經理。他所辦理的環境教育課程和工作坊遍及北美、中美、南美、加勒比海地區、中國、印度及泰國。

Paul Ofei-Manu
資深政策研究員
全球環境策略機構(Institute for Global Environmental Strategies)

Paul Ofei-Manu 擁有生態農業和環境永續管理背景的博士學位,包含以永續發展教育為題之論文(碩士)。於全球環境策略機構(IGES)執行永續教育10年,包含近4年之環境教育領域,他充分接觸教育相關之活動,如研究、推廣,以及交流。其中一部分包含針對永續發展教育(ESD)和永續消費教育(ESC)政策層面之評量,如:美國環境教育執行之評量、國家及氣候變遷調適能力量、亞洲及非洲之減災計畫及其合作計畫,以及近期聯合國教科文組織之永續發展教育執行評量計畫。

Ginger Potter
資深教育專家
美國環境保護署

Ginger Potter為美國環保署公眾參與及環境教育室(Office of Public Engagement and Environmental Education)的資深教育專家,負責環境教育計畫設計、執行及管理,以及研究、評量、計畫評估和戰略規劃。她同時也是國家教師陪訓及專業能力發展計畫(現為EECapacity)的技術顧問,也是全球環境教育夥伴計畫的共同主席。
來到美國環保署前,Ginger為美國地質調查局的化學研究員。她持有化學、商業管理及組織發展、行為心理學之學位。針對環境教育,她已發表多篇文獻,也常於國內和國際場合發表教育及永續發展教育議題。

Mahesh Pradhan
戰略夥伴關係和知識管理協調員
聯合國環境計畫、聯合國環境規劃署國際環境技術中心

Mahesh Pradhan於聯合國環境計畫下推動環境教育長達20年。他是全球大專環境與永續網絡(GUPES)的發起人,此計畫自里約+20高峰會以來,共有800所來自非洲、亞太、拉丁美洲、加勒比海地區、歐洲、北美以及西亞的大專學校參與。他也發起聯合國第一個以生態防減災為主題的大規模開放線上課程(MOOC),課程登記人數相當可觀。目前,他在位於大阪的聯合國環境計畫國際環境技術中心推行一系列研究所課程,並著手建立全面性整合廢棄物管理相關知識的平台。

Gayatri Ragwha
教育顧問

Gayatri Ragwha曾於阿拉伯聯合大公國居住長達27年,近期才遷回印度故居。自阿布達比開始推行環境教育之初,她便於NGO及政府組織中提升阿布達比環境教育的能見度。她曾擔任阿布達比環境署之專門委員,任內為政府規劃環境教育策略,包含設計、發展及實施於各層級學校或其他單位之相關計畫。她任內也與多個國際團體簽署備忘錄,包含北美環境教育協會(NAAEE)、印度環境教育中心(CEE)、澳洲環境教育協會(AAEE)等。她為多種不同群眾設計了不同教材,如:書籍、手冊等,並定期針對學校及大專教育人員辦理培訓課程。除此之外,她個人也積極參與不同組織,如Zayed未來能源獎、地球觀察行動(Eye On Earth)、聯合國永續發展會議(UNCSD)等。她也為阿布達比環境署設計多項成功的環境教育活動,如環境拼字比賽(Enviro-spellathon)、永續校園行動方案(Sustainable Schools Initiative)、校園環境永續行動(Sustainable Campus Initiative)。目前,她以自由顧問的身分繼續為阿布達比及印度不同組織設計更多教材。

Ben Reddiex
紐西蘭環保局
社區參與主任

Benjamin Reddiex已在紐西蘭環保局工作10多年,現職為社區參與部門的主任,此部門同時也負責發展環保局之教育、志工培訓、社區夥伴關係建立的相關計畫。目前他以跨部門整合的方式,釐清能夠提供協助的人員、面臨的阻礙,以及相關可行策略,大幅提升紐西蘭環境教育和永續教育的相關支援及實施效率。

Alan Reid
副教授
蒙納許大學 (Monash University)

Alan Reid 共同主導北美環教協會eePRO平台上的研究與評量群組,並曾於2015年獲得NAAEE所頒發的傑出研究貢獻獎項。他自2005年以來為環境教育領域首屈一指的期刊Environmental Education Research之編輯,近期曾編輯出版《環境教育的重大成果(The Major Works of Environmental Education. Routledge, 2016.)》。他也是GEEP的諮詢顧問團隊成員,主要關注案例研究及國際合作。

Kartikeya V. Sarabhai
尼赫魯發展基金會環境教育中心 (Centre for Environment Education, Nehru Foundation for Development)

Kartikeya V. Sarabhai為印度環境教育中心的創辦人兼主任,其總部位於亞美達巴德市。他是聯合國教科文組織永續發展教育十年計畫之諮詢小組成員,也是國際自然保護聯盟(IUCN)的長期成員。他曾擔任IUCN南亞及東南亞教育及宣導委員會之主席,現在則是IUCN印度委員會的副主席。他是國際地球憲章委員會的成員,也是1992年參加里約地球高峰會(UNCED)及2002年參加永續發展世界高峰會議(WSSD)的印度代表團成員,UNCED印度的報告便由他共同撰寫。他密切參與聯合國環境計畫的推廣,特別是與臭氧有關的計畫。他也曾任職於印度環境與森林部以及人力資源開發部門的多個委員會。

William Scott
譽教授
巴斯大學 (University of Bath)

William Scott 在成為巴斯大學的榮譽教授前,曾任巴斯大學教育及永續研究計畫的主持人、教育及環境研究中心主任,以及永續能源及環境學院副院長。他是期刊Environmental Education Research的首任總編輯(1995年),也於1998-2008年間擔任期刊Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education之編輯,並且是皇家文藝學會(Royal Society of Arts)資歷超過30年的院士。他曾任社區利益公司South West Learning for Sustainability Coalition之董事、威爾特郡野生生物信託(Wiltshire Wildlife Trust)及雅芳森林信託(Forest of Avon Trust)之受託人,以及英國國家境教育協會(National Association of Environmental Education)之理事長。他的研究主要聚焦於學習對於永續發展的影響、教育可提供的貢獻,以及對於此類活動進行效益評估時的研究問題。他特別關注永續教育機構的執行狀況。

Hanna Seimola
全球教育專員
世界自然基金會(World Wildlife Fund)

Hanna於2006年加入芬蘭世界自然基金會(World Wildlife Fund),現職為保育部門教育計畫的主任。她自2017年起發展WWF的教育社群,並於2018年初被指派為全球教育專員,目前90%的時間協調全球事務。至今她已促進65處WWF辦公室結合為網絡,並共同研議WWF的全球教育策略。她更進一步透過成立WWF教育社群、建立夥伴關係及國際合作計畫,協調整合全球教育核心小組。Hanna在環境教育領域的工作經驗超過20年。她持有幼教學士及碩士學位,並於加入WWF前曾任生物教師及芬蘭戶外教育中心之講師。她也取得澳洲格里菲斯大學的環境教育博士學位,針對多元文化環境教育發表多篇文獻,並為芬蘭環境教育手冊的共同作者。

Margie Simon
理事長
北美環境資訊及通訊中心 (CICEANA)

Margie Simon 擁有史丹佛大學之地球科學學士學位、環境工程碩士學位及基礎建設規劃與管理之碩士學位。她於美國及墨西哥針對固體廢棄物、有害廢棄物、都市廢棄物之管理進行研究及相關顧問工作長達15年。1995年她加入北美環境資訊及通訊中心(The North American Center for Environmental Information and Communication, CICEANA),自2000年起擔任該中心理事長。相關職責包含透過環境教育、永續發展應用計畫、多媒體環境通訊、為組織募資等計畫的管理及展,達成CICEANA推廣、促進具有環境責任的文化的目標。

Arjen Wals
教授
瓦赫寧恩大學 (University of Wageningen)

Wals教授在國家和國際環境教育及永續教育領域已有超過30年的研究和執行經驗。他曾任聯合國教科文組織的社會學習及永續發展主席,也是2016年教科文組織教育監控報告的資深政策顧問。在瓦赫寧恩大學及哥特堡大學(Gothenburg University),他負責進行環境教育及環境永續教育之相關研究、教學、監督、校內推動及對外活動。

劉 宗勇
處長
行政院環境保護署綜合計畫處

劉處長於倫敦帝國大學取得碩士學位,主修環境工程。他於環保署服務25年,並於2014年擔任永續室執秘期間開始參與全球環境教育夥伴計畫。於現任綜計處處長一職,他主責環境教育政策與環境評估。

張 文芬
行政院環境保護署綜合計畫處
臺灣

張文芬於台灣行政院環境保護署綜合計畫處擔任環境教育計畫召集人,承辦GEEP、臺美生態學校夥伴計畫,也審查NGO、學校、地方政府及其他教育機構之補助申請。

Advisory Group

The Global Environmental Education Partnership (GEEP) Advisory Group provides guidance on the overall direction of the GEEP, assists in the development of GEEP membership and governance, and serves as ambassadors for the partnership.

Judy Braus
Executive Director

Judy Braus brings to her role as NAAEE Executive Director a wealth of experience in the environmental education profession, with a focus on conservation education, diversity and inclusion, and using the power of education to help create healthier communities that empower local communities, stakeholders, and individuals to help restore and protect the environment. She comes to NAAEE from the National Audubon Society, where she was the Senior Vice President of Education and Centers, overseeing an extensive nationwide network of nature centers and educators. Prior to that, she led the education programs at World Wildlife Fund (WWF), the U.S. Peace Corps, and the National Wildlife Federation (NWF).

Wen-Feng Chang
Department of Comprehensive Planning
Taiwan EPA

Wen-Feng serves as a Coordinator in environmental education at the Department of Comprehensive Planning, EPA Taiwan. She is in charge of the Global Environmental Education Partnership and the US-Taiwan Eco-Campus Partnership Program. She reviews grant applications from NPOs, schools, local governments, and other educational facilities for Environmental Education Fund.

Jan Eriksen
Honorary Member
Foundation for Environmental Education

Jan Eriksen was the President for the Foundation for Environmental Education from 2004-2016 and Vice President from 1996-2004. The Foundation has developed five internationally recognized programs, including Eco-Schools, The Blue Flag, The Green Key, Learning about Forests, and Young Reporters for the Environment (YRE). The Foundation has MoUs with different UN bodies, including UNESCO, and is deeply engaged in the work for the 17 Sustainable Development Goals. The Foundation has 85 members in 75 countries.

Justin Harris
Manager, International Environmental Partnership
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Justin Harris is a Senior Program Manager with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Office of Regional & Bilateral Affairs. He is the U.S. coordinator for the International Environmental Partnership. He has direct responsibility for collaborative programs addressing toxics, waste, water, climate change, enforcement/governance, and environmental education. Mr. Harris is the agency's lead for the Cities Clean Air Partnership and serves as a liaison to American Institute in Taiwan. Prior to joining the EPA in 2009, Mr. Harris worked in the private sector in Asia for ten years. He is fluent in Mandarin Chinese and graduated with an M.S. in Foreign Service from Georgetown University in 2002.

Yi-Hsuan (Tim) Hsu
Professor, Director of Environmental Education Extension Center
Aletheia University

Tim Hsu received his Master and Ph.D. degrees from the School of Natural Resources at Ohio State University. Now he is a professor in the Department of Leisure & Recreation Management, and also the Director of the Environmental Education Extension Center, at Aletheia University in Taiwan. He also served in a leading role for national EE projects over the years, including EE in the schooling system developed by the Ministry of Education, nonformal EE in Nature Centers promoted by the Taiwan Forestry Bureau, and International cooperation in academic and practical development with UK, Japan, Korea, and China. In addition, Tim serves as the operational consultant for the National Marine Museum, Taijing National Park, Water Resources Bureau, and the Southern Meteorological Center. His research interests focus on program design, professional training, and evaluations in formal and nonformal environmental education settings, as well as promotion of the EE Act. Tim has translated and written many popular science books, and was awarded A Good Book for Everyone-Must-Read of the year.

Ian Humphreys
Executive Director
Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful

Ian joined Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful as Chief Executive Officer in 2008 after 14 years with The Conservation Volunteers. He has strong environmental and research credentials including a PhD from The Queen's University of Belfast. At Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful Ian has overseen rapid growth in Eco-Schools, with every school now participating. His focus on tackling issues through partnership has led to a successful civic pride campaign, Live Here Love Here, which was launched in 2014. He is currently focusing on research into the effects of interventions on behaviour and developing civic leadership in young people. He is involved in the running of Copeland Bird Observatory in a voluntary capacity. Ian says "All our work seeks to bring about changes in people's behaviour to create a cleaner, greener and more sustainable Northern Ireland."

Mphemelang (M.J.) Ketlhoilwe
Associate Professor of Environmental Education
University of Botswana

Mphemelang Ketlhoilwe is an Associate Professor of Environmental Education at the University of Botswana. He began working for the University of Botswana in 1999, after 15 years of service in the Curriculum Development Centre as an Education Officer (Environmental Education). Currently, he is the President of Environmental Education Association of Southern Africa (EEASA) and serves on the Advisory Board of the Global Environmental Education Partnership (GEEP).

Alex Kudryavtsev
Cornell University

Alex Kudryavtsev (pen name: Alex Russ) is an online course instructor in the Cornell University Civic Ecology Lab. He has worked in environmental education since 1996 in Russia, and completed his MS (2006) and PhD (2013) degrees in environmental education in the Department of Natural Resources, Cornell University. His research focused on urban environmental education and sense of place. Alex co-edited the "Urban Environmental Education Review" textbook (Russ and Krasny, 2017), to be published by Cornell University Press. Alex has published articles in top environmental education journals, traveled all continents observing environmental education programs, and is interested in novel approaches in environmental education that foster environmental sustainability and human well-being.

Tsung-Yung Liu
Director General
EPA Taiwan

Director General Liu got his Master’s degree at Imperial College London, majoring in Environmental Engineering. He has served in the Taiwan EPA for 25 years. He has been involved in the program of International Environmental Partnership and Global Environmental Education Partnership since 2014, when he served as the Executive Secretary of Office of Sustainable Development with US EPA. He is now the Director General in the Department of Comprehensive Planning in Taiwan EPA, in charge of EE policy and environmental impact assessment.

Gus Medina
Environmental Education Consultant

Dr. Medina is an environmental education specialist with extensive experience at both the national and international levels. His areas of proficiency include education and conservation programing, project design and management, proposal writing and review, professional development, cultural competency and inclusiveness, strategic planning, and meeting facilitation. Between 1995 and 2014, he served as Project Manager for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s National Environmental Education Training Program. He has facilitated professional level environmental education courses and workshops in North, Central and South America, the Caribbean, China, India, and Thailand.

Paul Ofei-Manu
Senior Policy Researcher
Institute for Global Environmental Strategies

Paul Ofei-Manu has a postgraduate (Ph.D.) educational background in agro-ecology and environmental sustainability management, including a thesis on education for sustainable development (M.Sc.). With ten years of sustainability education experience, including environmental education in the past four years, he has been fully involved in the education related activities, such as research, outreach and networking, of the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES). Some of these have included ESD and ESC evaluation/assessments at the policy level, assessment of EE implementation in the U.S., country-level evaluation of climate change adaptation (CCA) and disaster risk reduction (DRR) projects and their synergies in Asia and Africa, and most recently a UNESCO ESD implementation evaluation project.

Ginger Potter
Senior Education Specialist
United States Environmental Protection Agency

Ginger Potter is the Senior Education Specialist in the Office of Public Engagement and Environmental Education (OPEEE) for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

Ms. Potter is responsible for environmental education program design, implementation and management, as well as research, evaluation, and program assessment and strategic planning in the Office of Environmental Education. She serves as the Technical Advisory for the National Teacher Training and Professional Development Program (currently EECapacity) and is the Co-Chair of the Global Environmental Education Partnership (GEEP).

Before coming to EPA, Ms. Potter was a research chemist for the U.S. Geological Survey. Ms. Potter has degrees in Chemistry, Business Administration and Organization Development/Behavioral Psychology. She has published several articles on environmental education and speaks frequently at national and international conferences on education and sustainable development education issues.

Mahesh Pradhan
Coordinator, Strategic Partnerships and Knowledge Management
United Nations Environment Program, International Environmental Technology Centre 

Mahesh has over 20 years of experience with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) on Environmental Education. He launched the Global Universities Partnership on Environment and Sustainability (GUPES) in the lead up to the Rio+20 Summit, which currently comprises over 800 universities from Africa, Asia Pacific, Latin America and Caribbean, Europe, North America, and West Asia. Mahesh also launched UNEP’s first Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) on ecosystems-based disaster risk reduction, with a rapidly increasing portfolio. He is working on a knowledge management platform on holistic waste management, and a graduate curriculum through UNEP’s International Environmental Technology Centre in Osaka.

Gayatri Ragwha
Education Consultant

Gayatri Raghwa lived in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates for 27 years and recently moved to her home country, India. She has worked to raise the profile of EE since its inception at Abu Dhabi. She has worked as a volunteer, with an NGO, and with the government to promote EE. At the Environment Agency – Abu Dhabi, where she worked as a senior specialist, she strategized for EE at the government level, developing, designing, and implementing programs for schools, colleges, and other audiences. She also developed MoUs with EE organizations such as the NAAEE, CEE, AAEE and also from other parts of the world. She has developed resource materials such as books and manuals for varied audiences, regularly conducting training of trainer modules for school and college educators. She also contributes as a member to organizations such as the Zayed Future Energy Prize, Eye On Earth, and UNCSD Education. She has developed and run successful programs like the Enviro-spellathon, Sustainable Schools Initiative, Sustainable Campus Initiative for the Environment Agency - Abu Dhabi. She continues to work as a freelance consultant developing resource materials for Abu Dhabi organizations and also with several other organizations in India.

Ben Reddiex
Director of Community Engagement
Department of Conservation

Benjamin Reddiex has worked at the Department of Conservation in New Zealand for that last decade, currently in the position of Director of Community Engagement. His unit leads the development of education, volunteer, and community partnership strategies for the Department. He currently uses a cross-agency approach to determine enablers, barriers, and tactical responses that will significantly enhance the support and delivery of environmental education for sustainability (EEfS) in New Zealand.

Alan Reid
Associate Professor
Monash University

Alan Reid, co-leads the research and evaluation eePRO group of NAAEE, and was the award winner for NAAEE’s outstanding contribution to research in 2015. He has edited the field’s leading research journal, Environmental Education Research since 2005, recently co-edited the Major Works of Environmental Education (Routledge, 2016), and works with the GEEP on the executive committee, including on case studies and international networking.

Kartikeya V. Sarabhai
Centre for Environment Education, Nehru Foundation for Development

Kartikeya V. Sarabhai is the founder and director of India's Centre for Environment Education (CEE), headquartered in Ahmedabad. He is a member of the United Nations Decade of Education for Sustainable Development Reference Group of UNESCO and has long been associated with the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN). He served as chair of the South and South East Asia IUCN Commission on Education and Communication and is currently vice-chair of the Indian National Commission of IUCN. He is a member of the Earth Charter International Council. He was a member of the Indian delegation to the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED) in Rio in 1992 and the World Summit on Sustainable Development (WSSD) in Johannesburg in 2002, and co-authored India's report for UNCED. He has been closely associated with communication initiatives of United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), especially those connected with ozone. He has served on several committees of India's Ministry of Environment and Forest and Ministry of Human Resource and Development.

William Scott
Professor Emeritus
University of Bath

William Scott is a Professor Emeritus of Education at the University of Bath, where he was head of its Education and Sustainability research program, Director of the Centre for Research in Education and the Environment, and a Deputy Director of the University’s Institute for Sustainable Energy and the Environment. He was founding editor of the Journal Environmental Education Research (1995), was editor of Assessment and Evaluation in Higher Education from 1990 to 2008, and has been a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts for over 30 years. He has served as a director of the community interest company South West Learning for Sustainability Coalition, a trustee of the Wiltshire Wildlife Trust and the Forest of Avon Trust, and President of the UK’s National Association of Environmental Education [NAEE]. William’s research has focused on the role of learning in sustainable development, the contributions that education can make to this, and on the problems of researching the effectiveness of such activities. He has a particular interest in the practice of sustainable educational institutions.

Margie Simon
Director General

Margie Simon has a B.S. in Earth Science, a M.S in Environmental Engineering and another M.S. in Infrastructure Management and Planning, all from Stanford University. After 15 years of various consulting and research jobs in the environmental field in Mexico and the United States, mostly related to solid, hazardous, and municipal waste management, she began her career in Environmental Education and Capacity Building at The North American Center for Environmental Information and Communication (CICEANA) in 1995, where she has been Director since the year 2000. Her responsibilities at CICEANA include ensuring the fulfillment of the mission to promote an environmentally responsible culture through program management and development in all operative areas including: environmental education, applied projects for sustainable development, multimedia environmental communication, and fundraising for the organization.

Arjen Wals
University of Wageningen

Dr. Wals has more than 30 years of experience in research and practice, nationally and internationally in the field of environmental and sustainability education. He has served as UNESCO chair in social learning and SD, and is a senior policy advisor to UNESCO’s global education monitor report 2016. At University of Wageningen and Gothenburg University, he is responsible for research, education, supervision, acquisition, and outreach in EE and ESE.